The Declaration of January 27, 1925 

     With regard to false interpretation of our enterprise, stupidly circulated among the public;
     We declare as follows to the entire braying literary, dramatic, philosophical, exegetical 
     and even theological body of contemporary criticism:

    1.)   We have nothing to do with literature; But we are quite capable, when necessary, of making 
     use of it like anyone else.

    2.)   Surrealism is not a new means or expression, or an easier one, nor even a metaphysic of poetry. 
     It is a means of total liberation of the mind and of all that resembles it.

    3.)   We are determined to make a Revolution.

    4.)   We have joined the word surrealism to the word revolution solely to show the disinterested, 
     detached, and even entirely desperate character of this revolution.

    5.)   We make no claim to change the mores of mankind, but we intend to show the fragility of 
     thought, and on what shifting foundations, what caverns we have built our trembling houses.

    6.)   We hurl this formal warning to Society; Beware of your deviations and faux-pas, 
     we shall not miss a single one.

    7.)   At each turn of its thought, Society will find us waiting.

    8.)   We are specialists in Revolt. There is no means of action which we are not capable, 
     when necessary, of employing.

    9.)   We say in particular to the Western world: surrealism exists. And what is this new ism 
     that is fastened to us? Surrealism is not a poetic form. It is a cry of the mind turning back 
     on itself, and it is determined to break apart its fetters, even if it must be by material hammers!

    Bureaus de Recherches Surrealistes,
    15, Rue de Grenelle

   *Signatories to the Declaration of January 27 1925
   Louis Aragon,  Antonin Artaud, Jacques Baron, Jacques-Andre Boiffard,  Joe Bousquet,  
   Andre Breton,  Jean Carrive,  Rene Crevel,  Robert Desnos,  Paul Eluard,  
   Max Ernst,  Theodor Fraenkel, Francis Gerard,  Michel Leiris,  Georges Limbour,  
   Mathias Lubeck,  Georges Malkine,  Andre Masson Max Morise,  Pierre Naville,  
   Marcel Noll,  Benjamin Peret,  Raymond Queneau,  Philippe Soupault, Dede Sunbeam,  
   Roland Tual

   See The History of Surrealism - Maurice Nadeau 
   (Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1989), (pp.240-241).

   See Timeline